Home > Striped Bass Fishing > Is Striped Bass Kosher?

Is Striped Bass Kosher?

kosher cooked striped bass

Striped bass (Morone saxatilis) is a temperate bass with horizontal stripes on both sides of its body. Fishing for striped bass tends to be highly regulated because of our history of overharvesting the species. However, stripers make excellent sport because they grow to large sizes and put up a fight. You may be wondering if it’s worth the effort to catch one – is it edible, and is striped bass kosher?


Generally, temperate basses, including striped bass, make the kosher fish list, but there are some caveats. First, striped bass has alternate names, like rockfish and stripers, which can be mistaken for other types of fish that may not be kosher. It’s a good idea to make sure you have a real striped bass before cooking it up.


Another consideration is that some establishments make substitutions for striped bass. If you didn’t catch it or see the fish yourself, the restaurant, for example, may make a substitution that doesn’t meet your dietary requirements. 


Things get muddier when people use nicknames for fish or hybrids fall into the mix. However, most bass types appear on the kosher fish list, and as a species, they have unique identifiers. It helps to know a little about the different types of bass, including their unique markers. 


Add comment